Barefootin' Mama in the Middle of Nowhere

I’m BAAAACK!!!!

 

 I am quite certain I made this EXACT face today (except that mine was a girl’s version and my nostrils aren’t quite so wide… I don’t think… perhaps next time I should look in the mirror while I make this face)…  You can’t honestly sit there and try to pretend that you haven’t made this face at least ONCE in your life.  Seriously… quit lying to yourself… you have.  It was probably at your husband.  Well, in my case it was at mine.. or rather… about him, as he was not here when I made the face.  Hence why I made the face in the first place.

I sit here as a mother to a boy… a boy who I VOW not to let turn into his father… dirty clothes on the bedroom floor.. beer cans on the coffee table… grumbling about helping with household chores…. I, like ALL those mothers before me, vow to not let this happen.  I WILL teach my son to clean up after himself.  To help with laundry and child rearing… to encourage his future wife to have guiltless free-time and to never, ever, ever say things like “it’s good, but my mother’s is better”.  I VOW to ensure he does all the little things to make his wife feel special and pretty and more important than “Greatest Tank Battles” on TV.

I sit here as a wife wondering where that man escapes to?  Where does the little boy whose mother worked so hard to train to say excuse me after he belches and to not lick his plate clean go to learn all those habits back?? What place on this earth completely erases all the hard work a mother puts into her son and turns him into a man? A disgusting, beer drinking (do not for one second think I do not like beer… because I LOVE beer… in fact, I even like to belch while drinking beer (in private of course) but I do not like the leaving around of the empty beer containers), dirty clothes abandoning, muddy boots on in the kitchen, man.  And when is it okay for me to start counting to three and threatening my husband that I will throw his dirty clothes and boots outside in a mud puddle if he doesn’t clean up after himself?

Because I would much rather make this face all day long than the above one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment